Jagtial City and District Guide

The district of Jagtial was created from the former Karimnagar district. Nirmal, Mancherial, Nizamabad , Peddapalli, and Karimnagar Districts border it, with three revenue divisions located at Jagtial, Metpally, and Korutla. Jagtial town is home to the district headquarters.

jagtial city
View of Jagtial City

The district is bisected by the Godavari River. The SRSP Project is a big dam and a popular tourist destination. Dhulikatta’s Buddhist Sthupa from the 2nd century BC is historically and archaeologically significant. The holy temples of Sri MallikarjunaSwami Temple at Odela and Sri Varahaswami Temple at Kamanpur Mandal are located in the Jagtial district. From Jagtial to Peddapalli, there is a railway connection via Karimnagar.

The RamuniGundalu waterfalls in Sabbitham & RamagiriQila, a heritage landmark, are two tourist attractions in the district. Sri Laxminarsimha Swamy’s holy temple on the banks of the Godavari River near Dharmapuri Mandal headquarters is well-known throughout the state.

Thousands of devotees flock to the Sri Koteshwara Swamy temple on the banks of the Godavari River in Kotilingala village in Velgatur Mandal and the holy temple of Sri Anjaneya Swamy in Kondagattu in Muthyampet village in Mallial Mandal. The Jagtial fort, which is located near the town, is historically significant since it is Telangana’s only star-shaped fort encircled by a water moat.

More About Jagtial City

Country India
RegionDeccan Plateau
 • BodyJagtial Municipality
 • M.L.ASanjay Kumar
 • M.PDharmapuri Aravind
Area of city
 • Total City Area45 km2
Area rank5th rank
Elevation264 m (866 ft)
Population (2011)
 • Total103,930
 • Rank12th in Telangana


Dharmapuri Mandal headquarters, with Sri Laxminarsimha Swamy’s holy shrine on the banks of the Godavari River.
Sri Koteshwara Swamy’s holy temple in Kotilingala village, Velgatur Mandal, on the banks of the Godavari River.
Sri Anjaneya Swamy’s holy temple is located at Kondagattu in Muthyampet village, Mallial Mandal.


Tower Circle an historical Construction, situated in Jagtial Town

From Jagtial to Peddapalli, there is a railway connection via Karimnagar. From the main city Jagtial to in Nizamabad, there is connectivity.
Jagtial, Korutla, and Metpalli all have RTC bus stations.

Telephone code08724
Vehicle registrationTS 21

Mandals in Jagtial District

There are 12 Mandals in Jagtial District. Which are given below,

#Jagital revenue divisionKorutla revenue divisionMetpally revenue division
1Jagtial UrbanKorutlaMetpally
2Jagtial RuralMedipalleMallapur

About Jagtial Constituency

Jagtial Assembly Seat is a Telangana Legislative Assembly constituency in India. In Jagtial district, it is one of three constituencies. It is a segment of the Lok Sabha constituency of Nizamabad.

In the 2018 Legislative Assembly Election, M. Sanjay Kumar of Telangana Rashtra Samithi won the constituency for the first time.

Present MLAM. Sanjay kumar
Political PartyTelangana Rashtra Samithi
Elected Year2018
Jagtial Constituency Details
Total Electors1,74,856

Also Read

Useful Sites related to Jagtial District

Jagtial District SiteCLICK HERE
Jagtial Municipality SiteCLICK HERE
TSRTC Online for Bus Reservations to Jagtialtsrtconline.in

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *